Yes that's right. Finals have.... finally.... come upon us. Personally, I love finals for a number of reasons. #1- it means that the semester is over. #2- Unlike midterms, during finals time, you don't have class so you can adequately prepare. #3- During finals time, I can pretty much justify eating as much as I want. I mean I NEED the energy. This is my future we're talking about. But as the end of my third semester draws near, I'm beginning to reflect on what it is I've actually learned.
Survey of World Religions- Seriously, every single religion I've studied has the same basic message. I've officially come to the conclusion that the only reason we've had so many religious wars is because of ignorance. If people took the time to educate themselves about other religions, they'd understand that they're all advocates of peace, love, acceptance.... being a good person. Yes, there are differences in composition; gods called by different names, polytheism vs monotheism, and theories on the after life. But religion does not cause hatred and war. People do.
Greek & Roman Lit- You do not need to read the material if the teacher summarizes and highlights important points to know about each work in class. To be honest, this isn't a new lesson for me but knowing that really saved me some time in regards to this class. Also, don't kill your dad and date your mom. It won't end well.
Biology- The power of stumbleupon and Facebook. I hate science classes so I spent most of my Bio class time surfing the web. BUT the most important thing I learned from this class is that if you have a good TA who holds review sessions before each test, there's really no need to go to class (unless you have iclicker quizzes). I also learned that even the worst subject can be made somewhat interesting and enjoyable if you have a great professor.
Women's Chorus- A good rehearsal with awesome music and a fantastic conductor can change your mood for the rest of the day.
Art History- I cannot stress this enough. DO NOT TAKE A 2 1/2 HOUR ART HISTORY CLASS ON MONDAY NIGHTS. Awful. Awful. Awful decision. Don't get me wrong, the material was interesting and I actually think I retained more information in this class than any other, but I'm amazed that I got through the semester with my sanity intact.
Dance- Don't take an intro class when you've taken 5 or so years of clogging. You'll spend weeks learning how to shuffle (and not the cool LMFAO shuffle Julie). Also, if you have this class at 8 am and nothing else until 3, go to class in your pajamas and no makeup. Makes life so much simpler.
D&C- I need to get married ASAP and start having kids immediately because it's selfish of me to want to have a house and some money saved up for my family. I'll just move into married apartments and hope my kids don't want any Christmas presents for a few years. Also, I need to be out protesting gay rights with picket signs because I have to be actively engaged in the political opinions of the scriptures. Don't get me wrong- the guy is smart and I agreed with most of the stuff he said. But sometimes he just got under my skin.
There you have it. The big life lessons I learned from my last round of generals ever.

No comments:
Post a Comment