The London Dungeon is a kind of touristy, slightly historical, somewhat amusement parky... thing. I was just curious because I'd heard really good things about it. The dungeon brings you through all the dark history of London: Henry VIII and his wives, Jack the Ripper, Sweeny Todd and the like. It smelled quite a bit and it was very claustrophobic at points but I enjoyed myself overall.
Yum strawberries
Then I went to see Spamalot! There was a really fun little moment when Eric Idle played God. Obviously he wasn't really there. It was a prerecorded video but I thought it was really cool that they had one of the original Monty Pythoners.
I think I saw more Americans in the audience of this show than I have in the previous six weeks combined. Maybe Spamalot is just considered a low brow show and American tourists feel comfortable seeing it because they've heard of it. I'm not sure. But I did find myself inexplicably judging the loud Americans who came to see Spamalot when they had the whole of London theatre available to them. But then I remembered that I am an American. And I was in the Spamalot audience. Oops. I think that when you spend an extended period of time in London, the snobbery of Londoners rubs off on you.
Oh and I forgot to mention that I bought myself a present yesterday. It's a ball in a cup! And it is incredibly entertaining.




No comments:
Post a Comment